Posted by: ksuechester | March 9, 2011

Camping Out

Hebrews 11:13

“These all died in faith, not having received the promises, but having seen them from afar off, and were persuaded of them, and embraced them, and confessed that they were strangers and pilgrims on the earth:

=======================================================

For the past two days, the sting of disappointment has seemed to have appointed itself as my companion. A friend I cherish has been unable to keep a promise she made to me, and although her reasons are valid, it doesn’t make the sting any less painful. Things I had anticipated and hoped for didn’t happen, and my heart is feeling the ache for the loss of “What might have been”.

But I guess I should ask myself, “Why am I surprised at this?” “Why, after a lifetime of disappointments, am I surprised by one more?” It seems that by now, pain should be expected, and even planed for. The Bible warns us it will be coming; 1 Peter 4:12 says “Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you:”

Maybe the reason for my shock at yet another disappointment, is because from time to time, I forget that I am still on the journey. My final destination has yet to be reached. This life isn’t the reward God promises to His faithful followers, and my living in this world doesn’t mean I belong here! This is only a “campground” for the Christian, and like a lot of campgrounds, it is full of painful thorns, rocks, sticks, and underbrush that has to be pulled up, chopped down, or cleared away, before another night’s rest can be had.

But I am encouraged because God promises that one day He will call me. Either through death, or at the second coming of Christ, I will hear my name, and you can bet these tent stakes will be yanked up. Then, there will be no more “camping out” for me! I’ll be HOME!!!

There is a song I used to sing as a child, called “We’re Not Home Yet Children” and the chorus goes

“We’re not home yet children, so keep your eyes on the Savior; Just a few more days to labor, and we’ll sit down beside the river. How we long to be with Jesus, and our loved ones gone before us; There’s a better day a ‘coming. We’re not home yet!”

I praise God for the truth of those words!!!

Responses

  1. hey mom, you forgot one big thing about camping, the giant shark, that comes out of the ocean, flys unnoticed across NC, and bites you with one tooth!!! Great post, and great reminder of the promise!

    • Ha ha. Very funny… And thanks! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

